American Football Kicking Hall of Fame

January 2013

Ring Lardner Award for Excellence in Sports Journalism

Union League Boys & Girls Clubs of Chicago

May 2015

Frederick B. Mitchell Scholarship

Wittenberg University

May 2000 — Endowed scholarship given annually since 2000 to the Wittenberg University upperclass student who excels in journalism and athletics.

Bill Gleason Sportswriter of the Year Award

Pitch & Hit Club

January 2010

Irv Kupcinet Media Award

Ed Kelly Sports Programs

May 2010

Jim Murray Outstanding Sportswriter of the Year Award

All-American Football Foundation

September 2000

Beck Award

Chicago Tribune

February 1985 — “For deft touch and enthusiastic writing style and for providing superior reporting of the 1984 Cubs’ season.”

Doctor of Humane Letters (Honoris Causa)

Wittenberg University

May 2000

Lutheran College Football All-American

Lutheran Brotherhood of America

December 1968

Outstanding Sports Journalist Award

Gale Sayers Foundation

October 2015

Additional Honors & Awards

Wittenberg University Fellow (2001), American Football Association Semi-Pro Football Hall of Fame (’99), Wittenberg University Athletic Hall of Fame (’95), Chicago Basketball Coaches Hall of Fame (2010), Aunt Martha’s Youth Services Crystal Ball Award 2013