Latest Post

1112, 2023

Ottawa’s Reeves 2023 Fred Mitchell Award winner

By |December 11th, 2023|Categories: Fred Mitchell Award|

The road to glory and success often includes a few potholes and detours.

Landon Reeves of Ottawa University in Arizona has experienced that journey on the way to winning the 2023 Fred Mitchell Award as the best kicker among more than 750 non-FBS colleges in America.

Landon Reeves is the 2023 Fred Mitchell Award winner.

“Personally, for me, I think everyone has ups and downs, especially in any position you play in any sport,” Reeves said as he received the news that he is this year’s winner. “I’ve just been very grateful for the people that have been around me, especially for the community that I grew up in, out in Idalou, Texas, just very grateful that they’ve always had my back no matter what.”

Reeves credits his mother for supporting him and lifting his spirits while he trained at […]

412, 2023

Pro Football Hall of Fame writer named to Fred Mitchell Award panel

By |December 4th, 2023|Categories: Fred Mitchell Award|0 Comments

Esteemed veteran pro football writer Dan Pompei has been added to the Selection Committee of the Fred Mitchell Award.

“It is an honor and a privilege,” said Pompei, who is a member of the writers’ wing of the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Now a senior writer for The Athletic, Pompei previously wrote for the Chicago Tribune, Chicago […]

109, 2023

Former NFL star writes about travails of pioneering black players

By |September 1st, 2023|Categories: NFL|0 Comments

The history of African Americans in professional football is a complicated, alarming, and yet remarkable journey that warrants detailed research and analysis.

Gary Burley, a former outstanding defensive lineman for the Cincinnati Bengals and Atlanta Falcons, has made it his mission to chronicle those often-overlooked chapters in a new book entitled: “Glory: The Struggle For Yards.” It is written with acclaimed […]

2702, 2023

Ethan Gettman’s 56-yard field goal “would have been good from 65”

By |February 27th, 2023|Categories: Fred Mitchell Award|0 Comments

Chris Merritt, head football coach at Bryant University, realizes he has a tremendous weapon in 2022 Fred Mitchell Award winner Ethan Gettman.

Gettman, from Ormond Beach, Fla., led the nation (FCS) in field goal percentage (93.3) in addition to booming a school-record 56-yard field goal last season as a junior.

“I think this football team and this coaching staff has a tremendous […]

3008, 2022

Sayers’ bronze statue unveiling “bittersweet” for his widow

By |August 30th, 2022|Categories: Chicago Bears|0 Comments

The recent dedication of a Gale Sayers statue in Omaha, Neb., offered a precious opportunity for friends and longtime acquaintances to extend emotional support for the Sayers family.

Sayers, who passed away Sept. 23, 2020, was an iconic Hall of Fame running back for the Chicago Bears who was further immortalized because of his relationship with teammate Brian Piccolo. They became […]

Go to Top