Esteemed veteran pro football writer Dan Pompei has been added to the Selection Committee of the Fred Mitchell Award.

“It is an honor and a privilege,” said Pompei, who is a member of the writers’ wing of the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Now a senior writer for The Athletic, Pompei previously wrote for the Chicago Tribune, Chicago Sun-Times and the Sporting News.

“We are thrilled and excited to add Dan to our Selection Committee that already includes several Pro Football Hall of Fame players and coaches, as well as College Football Hall of Fame players,” said Mitchell. “Dan was a colleague of mine at the Chicago Tribune for several years and he has remained a valued personal friend for many decades.”

Pompei’s high-profile national experience includes serving as a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame selection committee.

The Fred Mitchell Award was established in 2009 by the National Football Foundation. The award annually honors the best kicker among over 750 colleges in America from FCS, Div. II, Div. III, NAIA and community college programs. In addition to kicking performance, the Selection Committee, headed by chairman Rob Perry, considers community service as an important criteria for the award. The 2023 winner will be announced this week.

Since the award’s creation by NFF Chicago chapter chairman Chris Kearney, several winners and Top 10 finalists have emerged as NFL kickers. And virtually all of the winners have been invited to an NFL camp for a tryout.

Here is the complete list of the members of the Fred Mitchell Award Selection Committee, as well as past winners of the award:

Selection Committee

  • Luis Aguilar: 2019 Fred Mitchell Award recipient from Northern Arizona University, member of the Philadelphia Stars
  • Roldan Alcobendas: 2018 Fred Mitchell Award recipient from Eastern Washington University
  • Carl Allegretti: NFF Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football Award, Selected for NFF Leadership Hall of Fame. NFF Board Member, played football at Butler University
  • Patrick Arbor: Former chairman of the Chicago Board of Trade. Prominent philanthropist, community supporter and worldwide
traveler. Longtime trustee for his alma mater, Loyola University
  • Tom Beck: College Football Hall of Fame Head Coach, National Football Foundation, Chicago Metro Chapter Board Member
  • Kevin Butler: College Football Hall of Fame kicker from University of Georgia, NFL kicker for Chicago Bears and Arizona Cardinals
  • Sergio Castillo: 2013 Fred Mitchell Award recipient from West Texas A&M University, NFL and CFL kicker
  • Matt Cotiguala: 2015 Fred Mitchell Award recipient from St. Ambrose University and a community volunteer
  • Matt Davis: 2016 Fred Mitchell Award recipient from University of North Carolina at Pembroke and now a physical therapist
  • Sean Gothier: National Football Foundation Minnesota Chapter Founder & Board Member, vrbo Citrus Bowl Team Selection Committee
  • Teddy Greenstein: Former Chicago Tribune sportswriter and former Heisman Trophy voter
  • Chris Husby: Special Teams Football Academy owner focusing on kicking, punting and snapping
  • Mike Husted: NFL kicker for 9 seasons and at the University of Virginia, Founder of National Camp Series network of kicking coaches
  • Brian Jackson: Former Arena Football League and Ball State University kicker, Founder and Director of National Kicking Rankings camps
  • Dan Jiggetts: Ivy League Hall of Famer, co-captain at Harvard, Chicago Bears offensive lineman, NFF Chicago Metro Chapter Board Member
  • Chris Kearney: NFF Chicago Metro Chapter Board President, vrbo Citrus Bowl Team Selection Committee
  • Conrad “Connie” Kowal: Sports marketing executive formerly with the New Orleans Saints and Chicago Cubs
  • Greg Loberg: Partner at Loberg & Associates
  • Nick Lowery: Inducted into Kansas City Chiefs Hall of Fame as kicker, Dartmouth College kicker
  • Tom Lynch: 2011 and 2010 Fred Mitchell Award recipient from Saint Xavier University, kicked for 2011 NAIA National Champions
  • Steve McMichael: College Football Hall of Famer from University of Texas including briefly as kicker, NFL with Chicago Bears and Green Bay Packers
  • Jeff Michalczyk: Received NFF St. Louis Chapter Scholar-Athlete Award, played linebacker at Drake University
  • Fred Mitchell: Chicago Tribune sportswriter for 41 years, Wittenberg University Hall of Fame kicker, American Football Kicking Hall of Fame, AFA Minor League Football Hall of Fame, Indiana Football Hall of Fame, Chicagoland Sports Hall of Fame
  • Mark Murphy: Green Bay Packers President, Team Captain on Washington Redskins Super Bowl teams in 1983 and 1984
  • Patrick Murray: 2012 Fred Mitchell Award recipient from Fordham University, NFL kicker for Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Cleveland Browns. Fordham Hall of Famer
  • Tom Obarski: 2014 Fred Mitchell Award recipient from Concordia University St. Paul
  • Rob Perry: Fred Mitchell Award Selection Committee Chairman, vrbo Citrus Bowl Team Selection Committee
  • Don Pierson: Retired Chicago Tribune pro football sportswriter, member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame writers’ wing
  • Dan Pompei- Senior football writer for The Athletic. Member of Pro Football Hall of Fame writers’ wing. Member of the Selection Committee for the Pro Football Hall of Fame
  • Ethan Ratke: 2021 winner of the Fred Mitchell Award from James Madison University. Consensus All-American who kicked more field goals during his career (101) than any kicker at any division.
  • Jeff Schebler: 2009 Fred Mitchell Award recipient from University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, DIII National Champion, 4 time All-American
  • Bob Thomas: NCAA Silver Award recipient at Notre Dame, made the winning FG to win 1974 National Championship, 12 years in NFL
  • Wolfe Tone: National Football Foundation Chicago Metro Chapter Board Member, was Herky Hawkeye mascot at University of Iowa
  • Cole Tracy: 2017 Fred Mitchell Award recipient from Assumption College, 2018 Lou Groza Award Finalist at Louisiana State University
  • Todd Wilkins: University of Wisconsin-Whitewater kicker, including for conference championship teams in the late 1980s
  • Gary Zauner: University of Wisconsin-LaCrosse kicker, NFL and College Kicking Consultant, Special Teams Coach for 13 years in the NFL
  • Rob Zvonar: Head Coach at Lincoln-Way East High School including multiple Illinois State Championships, coached 2007 US Army All-American Bowl

Past Winners

  • 2022 — Ethan Gettman
  • 2021 — Ethan Ratke
  • 2019 — Luis Aguilar
  • 2018 — Roldan Alcobendas
  • 2017 — Cole Tracy
  • 2016 — Matt Davis
  • 2015 — Matt Cotiguala
  • 2014 — Tom Obarski
  • 2013 — Sergio Castillo
  • 2012 — Patrick Murray
  • 2011 — Tom Lynch
  • 2010 — Tom Lynch
  • 2009 — Jeff Schebler